Laboratoire d'étude sur la schizophrénie et les psychoses orientés vers l'intervention et le rétablissement.

Laboratory for education on schizophrenia and psychoses oriented to intervention and recovery.

  • Facebook - White Circle
girl reading book

LESPOIR LABORATORY

A new perspective of severe mental illness

L'ESPOIR (Research Laboratory about Schizophrenia and Psychosis Oriented  Towards Intervention and Recovery) is a laboratory of the Department of Psychology of University of Montreal that aims to improve treatments and services for people with severe mental disorders (psychotic disorders, bipolar disorder, depression) and that aims to reduce the stigma associated with these disorders.
 

For a long time, researchers believed that only medication was effective in treating psychotic disorders. For many years, L'ESPOIR has been helping to demonstrate the effectiveness of cognitive-behavioral therapy and other psychosocial treatments (group or individual) for the recovery of psychotic disorders. In fact, the director, Dr. Tania Lecomte, Ph.D., has created several group psychotherapies adapted to the difficulties faced by people with severe mental disorders, who are scientifically validated in several countries. You will find the books of these different therapies in the Shop section. Tania Lecomte still practices psychology in private practice with these populations. Thus, L'ESPOIR'S research projects are different from other laboratories by the fact that they consider the clinical reality of these populations.

L'ESPOIR is an international expert in Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Psychosis (CBTp) and stands out for its approach of recovery of psychotic disorders. L'ESPOIR is particularly interested in the role of new technologies to improve the mental health of this population, such as mobile applications, virtual reality, avatars or teletherapy. L'ESPOIR is also particularly interested in the socioprofessional reintegration of individuals with a severe mental disorder and collaborates with the Research Chair in Mental Health and Work led by researcher Marc Corbière, Ph.D. Finally, the laboratory is interested in CBTp, mindfulness, social cognition, as well as co-morbid disorders to psychotic disorders.

L'ESPOIR collaborates with many researchers, clinicians, peer helpers and international stakeholders. L'ESPOIR is also affiliated with the IUSMM (University Institute in Mental Health of Montreal). In addition, L'ESPOIR is part of the CRIPCAS (Center for Interdisciplinary Research on Conjugal Problems and Sexual Assaults) and is one of the first research laboratories to focus on marital problems in a psychotic population.

Laboratoire d'étude sur la schizophrénie et les psychoses orientés vers l'intervention et le rétablissement.

Laboratory for education on schizophrenia and psychoses oriented to intervention and recovery.

  • Facebook - White Circle
girl reading book

LE LABORATOIRE L'ESPOIR

Une nouvelle perspective des troubles mentaux graves

L'ESPOIR (Laboratoire d'Étude sur la Schizophrénie et les Psychoses Orienté vers l'Intervention et le Rétablissement) est un laboratoire du département de psychologie de l'Université de Montréal visant à améliorer les traitements et services offerts aux personnes ayant un trouble mental grave (troubles psychotiques, troubles bipolaires, dépression) et visant à réduire la stigmatisation associée à ces troubles.

Pendant longtemps, les chercheurs ont cru que seuls les médicaments étaient efficaces pour traiter les troubles psychotiques. Or, L'ESPOIR contribue à démontrer depuis plusieurs années l'efficacité de la thérapie cognitive-comportementale et de d'autres traitements psychosociaux de groupe ou individuels pour le rétablissement des troubles psychotiques. D'ailleurs, la directrice, Dre Tania Lecomte, Ph.D., a créée plusieurs psychothérapies de groupe adaptées pour les difficultés que rencontrent les personnes ayant des troubles mentaux graves, qui sont validées scientifiquement dans plusieurs pays. Vous retrouverez les livres de ces différentes thérapies dans la section boutique. Tania Lecomte pratique encore la psychologie en bureau privé auprès de ces populations. Ainsi, les recherches de L'ESPOIR se distinguent des autres laboratoires par le fait qu'elles considèrent la réalité clinique de ces populations.

L'ESPOIR est un expert mondial en thérapie cognitive-comportementale pour la psychose (TCCp) et se distingue par son approche de rétablissement des troubles psychotiques. L'ESPOIR s'intéresse d'autant plus au rôle de nouvelles technologies pour améliorer la santé mentale de cette population, telles que les applications mobiles, la réalité virtuelle, des avatars ou la téléthérapie. L'ESPOIR s'intéresse aussi particulièrement à la réinsertion socioprofessionnelle des individus ayant un trouble mental grave et collabore notamment avec la Chaire de recherche en santé mentale et travail dirigée par le chercheur Marc Corbière, Ph.D. Enfin, le laboratoire s'intéresse grandement à la TCCp, la pleine conscience, la cognition sociale, ainsi que les troubles comorbides aux troubles psychotiques. 

L'ESPOIR collabore avec plusieurs chercheurs, cliniciens, pairs aidants et intervenants au niveau international. L'ESPOIR est aussi affilié à l'IUSMM (Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Montréal). De plus, L'ESPOIR fait partie du CRIPCAS (Centre de Recherche Interdisciplinaire sur les Problèmes Conjugaux et les Agressions Sexuelles) et est l'un des premiers laboratoires de recherche à s'intéresser aux problèmes conjugaux chez une population psychotique.