Laboratoire d'étude sur la schizophrénie et les psychoses orientés vers l'intervention et le rétablissement.

Laboratory for education on schizophrenia and psychoses oriented to intervention and recovery.

  • Facebook - White Circle

OUR TEAM

Learn more about us

TANIA LECOMTE, PH.D.

Director

Tania Lecomte, Ph.D., is Full Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Montreal, Senior Researcher at the Research Institute of the Montreal Mental Health Institute (IUSMM) and CRIPCAS, founder of the Canadian Network of Researchers in Schizophrenia, and a Founding Member of the North American Network for Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Psychosis. Her current work focuses on the recovery of people with mental disabilities. She is interested, for example, in assessing needs, self-esteem and social functioning, in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for psychosis (CBTp), first episodes of schizophrenia, and the professional reintegration of people with a severe mental disorder, as well as comorbid disorders (psychosis and substance abuse or social anxiety). Dr. Lecomte has directed and developed group workbooks for people with a severe mental disorder (such as: I am super-on self-esteem, CBT for psychosis, WITH-CBT for parents of people with psychosis and CBT for supported employment). She has benefited from several research grants at the national level (Canada) and several peer-reviewed articles (more than 120) have resulted from her work. She also co-edited the Psychiatric Rehabilitation Handbook (in French), published in 2004, and updated in 2012 by Les Presses de l'Université du Québec and she wrote the book Group CBT for psychosis published by Oxford Press in 2016 and translated into French at PUQ in 2018. She is also a clinical psychologist (private office) and expert trainer in psychological interventions with people with a severe mental disorder and their families.

AUDREY FRANCOEUR, Graduate student in psychology (R/I)

Social cognitive model of resilience following a romantic breakup in youth

Audrey first completed a Master's degree in psychology supervised by Tania Lecomte and Isabelle Daigneault concerning the mediating role of social cognition in the relationship between childhood maltreatment and romantic breakup adjustment in young adults. She is currently a doctoral student in psychology supervised by Tania Lecomte. Although Audrey is passionate by many research areas, her main interests are coping mechanisms, trauma, personnality and psychotic disorders. Her current research concerns emotional regulation in association with distress and mental health (resilience) following a romantic breakup in young adults.

BRIANA CLOUTIER, Graduate student in psychology (R/I)

Testing a novel group intervention for young men with a serious mental illness

Briana is a graduate student in clinical psychology (research-intervention profile) at the Université de Montréal. She obtained her bachelors' degree from Concordia University where she completed a honors' thesis on socicognitive predictors of education across generations. She is interested in interpersonal relations (families, friendships, couples) in the context of psychosis or severe mental illness. Her doctoral project focuses on assessing the impact of a novel intervention for romantic relationship functioning in young men with a psychotic disorder. She will also work on validating new tools focusing on sexuality and romantic relationship functioning in early psychosis.

ARCHIBALDO BRAVO, Graduate student in psychology (Ph.D)

Effects of changing cognitive biases on social anxiety in people with schizophrenia

Archibaldo is a Ph.D. student in psychology at University of Montreal. Supervised by Tania Lecomte, his doctoral thesis concerns effects of changing cognitive biases and sociocognitive deficits, particularly facial emotion recognition, on social anxiety in people with schizophrenia. Archibaldo obtained his undergraduate degree in psychology at Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolás de Hidalgo (UMSNH; Mexico), and his Master's degree in psychology at Universidad Nacional Autonóma de México (UNAM; Mexico). He has had the opportunity to work on various research project, inluding validating a measure of social anxiety.

JULIETTE C. BAROLET, Master's student in psychology

Attachment and childhood maltreatment as predictors of resilience following a romantic breakup in youth

Having completed her bachelor's degree in psychology, Juliette continues her masters degree under the supervision of Tania Lecomte and Audrey Brassard. She concentrates her research on the role of insecure attachment in young adults who experienced a romantic breakup recently. Her Master's thesis objective is to enhance comprehension of predictors of distress or resilience following a non-desired romantic breakup. Because of the subject of her research project, she is a current member of the CRIPCAS research center. Her study is a part of a broader research project which includes social cognition and childhood maltreatment in a romantic breakup context.

CATHERINE HACHE-LABELLE, Graduate student in psychology (R/I)

Virtual reality as a social reconnection tool: Pilot study

Catherine is a first year doctoral student in psychology (Research and Intervention profile). Her research interests focus on mindfulness and psychotic disorders, for which she is passionate. She did her Master's degree at University of Montreal, supervised by Tania Lecomte, her Master thesis entitle Two is better than one: Pilot study on feasibility, acceptability and potential impact of a group intervention on romantic relationships for young men with a psychotic disorder. She also completed her Bachelor's degree in psychology at University of Montreal.

MARIANNE BOUCHARD, Graduate student in psychology (Clinical psychology)

Study about function and effects of stimulant drugs in a population with schizophrenia

Marianne completed her degree in psychology at University of Montreal, where she held the position of research assistant in L'ESPOIR, in which she has been a member for more than two years. She is a passionate and dynamic student who aspires to become clinical psychologist as well as lecturer, while continuing her involvement in psychology research. Marianne is currently a graduate student in clinical psychology under supervision of Tania Lecomte and Stéphane Potvin. Her research project aims to provide a global and detailled portrait of psychosis and impulsivity characteristics in people with schizophrenia using psychostimulants.

ANTOINE PENNOU, Graduate student in psychology (R/I)

Study about an intervention aiming to decrease emotional distress in concurrent disorders

Antoine is currently a graduate student in psychology at University of Montreal and is supervised by Tania Lecomte and Yasser Khazaal. His research is about the importance of theory of mind and emotional regulation in social functioning of individuals with dual diagnosis of schizophrenia and alcohol and drug use disorder. He is working on developing a smartphone application that aims to promote better disease management for this population. He also conducted research about impulsiveness and its therapeutic implications for bipolar disorders at Douglas Mental Health University Institute, under the supervision of Serge Beaulieu.

EXPERT TRAINERS

CRYSTAL SAMSON, Graduate student in psychology (R/I)

Better understanding of cognitive biases in psychosis and depression

Crystal completed her Bachelor's degree in psychology at University of Ottawa, where she an undergraduate thesis about antipsychothics for people with intellectual disabilities. She is currently ending her Ph.D. in psychology at Univeristy of Montreal, in the L'ESPOIR laboratory. She is interested in various issues in adult mental health, psychotic disorders and personality disorders. She completed her internships according to psychodynamic, cognitive-behavioral and humanistic approaches, which made her want to practice in an integrative approach. Her doctoral thesis focuses on cognitive biases in people with schizophrenia or major depressive disorder. She is also involved in many current projects in L'ESPOIR. Among other things, she leads a cognitive-behavioral therapy via Internet for young adults with psychotic disorder. 

 

ANOUK LATOUR-DESJARDINS, Clinical Psychology, CBTp trainer and  trainer in interventions/psychotherapy for psychotic disorders (located in Montreal)

PHILLIP THÉRIEN, Clinical psychology, trainer in family approaches and interventions/psychotherapy for psychotic disorders (located in Montreal)

Anouk completed her professional doctorate in psychology at LESPOIR's laboratory under the supervision of Tania Lecomte and Amal Abdel Baki, in 2017. She became interested in romantic relationships among men with a psychotic disorder. She currently work as a psychologist in private practice and at the Douglas Mental Health Institute, in both individual and group practice. Althought, she describes her approach as integrative, she has been mastering and applying cognitive behavioral therapy for psychosis for several years (in particular Professor Lecomte's group approach).

 

 

Philip completed his professional doctorate in psychology at LESPOIR's laboratory, under the supervision of Tania Lecomte, in 2012. He studied the care pathway of people with both Borderline personality disorder and psychotic disorder. Since then, he works as a psychologist in private practice and in community context as well. He developed an expertise in family intervention for parents and relatives of people with psychotic disorder (including group intervention WITH). With an integrative approach, he is also trained in cognitive behavioral therapy for psychosis (particularly, Professor Lecomte's group approach).

Alicia Spidel, Ph.D., psychologist, trainer in third wave CBT for psychosis and for trauma (located in Vancouver)

Alicia has completed her Ph.D. under the supervision of Pr. Lecomte, demonstrating the positive impact of the CAM group (an ACT/mindfulness intervention) for people with trauma and psychosis. She has many years of experience in mental health forensic settings as well as in psychosis. She is a trainer in third wave CBT for psychosis and for trauma, in individual as well as in group format.

Laboratoire d'étude sur la schizophrénie et les psychoses orientés vers l'intervention et le rétablissement.

Laboratory for education on schizophrenia and psychoses oriented to intervention and recovery.

  • Facebook - White Circle

NOTRE ÉQUIPE

Découvrez-en plus sur nous

TANIA LECOMTE, PH.D.

Directrice du laboratoire

Tania Lecomte, Ph.D., est professeure titulaire au Département de psychologie de l'Université de Montréal, chercheuse séniore au Centre de Recherche de l’Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Montréal (IUSMM) et au CRIPCAS, fondatrice du réseau canadien de chercheurs en schizophrénie, et membre fondatrice du regroupement nord-américain en thérapie cognitive comportementale pour la psychose (TCCp). Ses travaux actuels s’intéressent au rétablissement des personnes aux prises avec un handicap psychique. Elle s’intéresse par exemple à l’évaluation des besoins, de l’estime de soi et du fonctionnement social, à la thérapie cognitive comportementale pour la psychose, aux premiers épisodes de schizophrénie, à la réinsertion professionnelle des personnes aux prises avec un trouble mental grave, ainsi qu’aux troubles concomitants (psychose et abus de substances ou anxiété sociale). Dr Lecomte a dirigé et développé des manuels de groupe pour les personnes avec un trouble mental grave (tels que : Je suis Super – sur l’estime de soi, TCC pour psychose, AVEC-TCC pour les parents des gens souffrant de psychose et TCC pour le soutien à l’emploi). Elle a bénéficié de plusieurs subventions de recherche au niveau national (Canada) plusieurs articles avec comités de pairs (plus de 120) ont découlé de ces travaux. Elle a par ailleurs codirigé le Manuel de Réadaptation Psychiatrique, publié en 2004, et mise à jour en 2012 par Les Presses de l’Université du Québec et elle a écrit le livre Group CBT for psychosis paru chez Oxford Press en 2016 et traduit en français au PUQ en 2018. Elle est aussi psychologue en bureau privé et formatrice experte en ce qui a trait à l'intervention auprès des personnes avec un trouble mental grave et leurs familles.

AUDREY FRANCOEUR, étudiante au doctorat en psychologie (R/I)

Modèle sociocognitif de la résilience à la rupture amoureuse chez les jeunes

Audrey a d'abord effectué une maîtrise en psychologie sous la supervision de Tania Lecomte et Isabelle Daigneault portant sur le rôle médiateur de la cognition sociale dans la relation entre les traumatismes durant l'enfance et l'adaptation à la rupture amoureuse au début de l'âge adulte. Elle est présentement au doctorat en psychologie sous la supervision de Tania Lecomte. Bien qu'Audrey soit passionnée par de nombreux domaines de recherche, ses principaux intérêts touchent aux mécanismes d'adaptation, aux traumatismes, aux troubles de personnalité ainsi qu'aux troubles psychotiques. Son projet de recherche porte sur la régulation émotionnelle en lien avec la détresse ou la santé mentale (résilience) suite à une rupture amoureuse chez les jeunes adultes.

BRIANA CLOUTIER, Étudiante au doctorat en psychologie (R/I)

Testing a novel group intervention for young men with a serious mental illness

Briana est étudiante au doctorat en psychologie clinique (profil Recherche-Intervention) de l’Université de Montréal. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat en psychologie à l’Université Concordia, où elle a complété une thèse d’honneur sur les facteurs sociaux-cognitifs pouvant expliquer le transfert intergénérationnel de la scolarité. Briana s’intéresse aux relations interpersonnelles (famille, amitiés, couples) dans le contexte de la psychose. Son projet doctoral vise à évaluer l’impact d’une nouvelle intervention de groupe sur le fonctionnement romantique et social des jeunes hommes ayant un trouble psychotique. Il tentera également de valider une mesure sur le fonctionnement romantique avec une population psychotique.

ARCHIBALDO BRAVO, Étudiant au doctorat en psychologie recherche (Ph.D)

Effets de la modification des biais cognitifs sur l’anxiété sociale chez les personnes schizophrènes

Archibaldo est un étudiant au Doctorat en psychologie-Recherche de l'Université de Montréal. Sous la supervision de la professeure Tania Lecomte, sa thèse de doctorat se concentrera sur les effets de la modification des biais cognitifs et des déficits sociocognitifs, en particulier la reconnaissance des émotions faciles, sur l’anxiété sociale chez les personnes atteintes de schizophrénie. Archibaldo a obtenu son Baccalauréat en psychologie à l'Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolás de Hidalgo (UMSNH; Mexique), et sa Maîtrise en psychologie à l'Universidad Nacional Autonóma de México (UNAM; Mexique). Au cours de sa formation, il a eu l'occasion de participer à divers projets de recherche, surtout axés sur la validation des instruments mesurant l'anxiété sociale.

JULIETTE C. BAROLET, étudiante à la maitrise en psychologie

L'attachement et le trauma infantile comme prédicteurs de la résilience suite à une rupture amoureuse chez les jeunes

 Ayant conclu son baccalauréat en psychologie, Juliette poursuit ses études en recherche sous la direction de Tania Lecomte et Audrey Brassard. Elle se concentre sur le rôle des insécurités d’attachement chez les jeunes adultes en rupture amoureuse. Son objectif de mémoire est d’augmenter la compréhension des prédicteurs de la détresse ou de la résilience face à une rupture amoureuse non désirée. De par son sujet de projet, elle fait partie du centre de recherche, le CRIPCAS. Ses travaux s’inscrivent dans un projet plus large incluant les cognitions sociales et les traumatismes en enfance dans l’adaptation à une rupture amoureuse.

CATHERINE HACHE-LABELLE, étudiante au doctorat en psychologie (R/I)

La réalité virtuelle comme outil de reconnexion sociale: étude pilote

Catherine est étudiante de première année au doctorat en psychologie clinique, Ph.D. recherche-intervention. Ses intérêts de recherche se concentrent sur la pleine conscience et les troubles psychotiques, pour lesquels elle se passionne. Elle a fait sa maîtrise à l'Université de Montréal sous la direction de Tania Lecomte, son projet de mémoire ayant eu pour titre: À deux, c'est mieux : étude pilote portant sur la faisabilité, l'acceptabilité et l'impact potentiel d'une intervention de groupe sur les relations amoureuses pour jeunes hommes ayant un trouble psychotique. Elle a également effectué son baccalauréat à l'Université de Montréal.

MARIANNE BOUCHARD, Étudiante au doctorat en psychologie (D.psy)

Étude sur la fonction et les effets des stimulants chez une population atteinte de schizophrénie

Marianne a fait son baccalauréat en psychologie à l’Université de Montréal, durant lequel elle a occupé le titre d’auxiliaire de recherche au laboratoire L’ESPOIR, duquel elle fait partie depuis déjà plus de 2 ans. Elle est une étudiante passionnée et dynamique qui vise à devenir à la fois psychologue clinicienne et chargée de cours, tout en continuant son implication dans le domaine de la recherche en psychologie. Marianne est maintenant une étudiante au doctorat en psychologie clinique (D.psy) sous la direction de Mme Tania Lecomte (Ph.D), en co-direction avec M. Stéphane Potvin (Ph.D). Son projet de recherche vise actuellement à dresser un portrait global et détaillé des caractéristiques de la psychose et de l’impulsivité chez des individus atteints d’une schizophrénie consommant des psychostimulants.

ANTOINE PENNOU, Étudiant au doctorat en psychologie (R/I)

Étude d’une intervention visant à diminuer la détresse émotionnelle dans les troubles concomitants

Antoine effectue actuellement son doctorat en psychologie clinique à l’Université de Montréal sous la direction de Tania Lecomte et Yasser Khazaal. Ses recherches portent sur l’importance de la théorie de l’esprit et de la régulation émotionnelle dans le fonctionnement social des individus aux prises avec un double diagnostic de schizophrénie et de trouble de consommation d’alcool et de drogue. Il travaille entre autres à développer une application pour téléphone intelligent qui vise à favoriser une meilleure gestion de la maladie pour cette population. Il a également effectué des recherches sur l’impulsivité et ses implications thérapeutiques chez les troubles bipolaires à l’institut universitaire Douglas sous la direction de Serge Beaulieu.

Nos formateurs

CRYSTAL SAMSON, étudiante au doctorat en psychologie (R/I)

Mieux comprendre les biais cognitifs dans la psychose et la dépression.

Crystal détient un baccalauréat en psychologie de l'Université d'Ottawa, où elle a fait une thèse de premier cycle sur les antipsychotiques prescrits aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. Elle termine actuellement son doctorat en psychologie clinique à l'Université de Montréal, au sein du laboratoire L’ESPOIR. Elle s'intéresse aux problématiques diverses en santé mentale adulte, les troubles psychotiques et les troubles de la personnalité. Elle a complété ses stages selon les approches psychodynamiques, cognitive-comportementales et humanistes, ce qui lui a donné envie de pratiquer selon une approche intégrative. Sa thèse doctorale porte sur les biais cognitifs présents chez les personnes ayant une schizophrénie ou un trouble dépressif majeur. Elle participe également à de nombreux projets en cours au laboratoire. Entre autres, elle anime une télé-thérapie cognitive-comportementale pour de jeunes adultes ayant un trouble psychotique.

ANOUK LATOUR-DESJARDINS, D.PSY., psychologue

Formatrice en TCCp et en interventions/psychothérapie pour troubles psychotiques (située à Montréal)

PHILLIP THÉRIEN, D.PSY., psychologue

Formateur en approches familiales et en interventions/psychothérapie pour troubles psychotiques (situé à Montréal)

Anouk a complété son doctorat professionnel en psychologique au sein du laboratoire L'ESPOIR sous la direction de Tania Lecomte et du Dr. Amal Abdel Baki en 2017. Elle s'est intéressée aux relations amoureuses chez les jeunes hommes aux prises avec un trouble psychotique. Elle travaille à la fois en bureau privé et à l'Institut Douglas en Santé Mentale comme psychologue, tant en approche individuelle que groupale. Quoiqu'elle se dit d'approche intégrative, elle maîtrise et applique depuis plusieurs années la thérapie cognitive comportementale pour la psychose (en particulier l'approche groupale du Pr. Lecomte).

Philip a complété son doctorat professionnel en psychologique au sein du laboratoire L'ESPOIR sous la direction de Tania Lecomte en 2012. Il a étudié le parcours de soins des personnes aux prises avec à la fois avec un trouble de personnalité limite (borderline) et un trouble psychotique.   Depuis, il œuvre comme psychologue en bureau privé ainsi qu'en contexte communautaire. Il a développé une expertise en intervention familiale auprès des parents et proches de personnes aux prises avec un trouble psychotique (incluant le groupe AVEC).  D'approche intégrative, il est aussi formé à la thérapie cognitive comportementale pour la psychose (en particulier l'approche groupale du Pr. Lecomte).

CÉCILE ROCHET, D.PSY.

Formatrice en TCC-AVEC et en interventions/psychothérapie pour troubles psychotiques (situé à Lyon, France)

Cécile est diplômée de l’Université Lumière Lyon 2,(Lyon.France) spécialisée en suivi  familial dans une approche systémique. Elle travaille comme psychologue, dans deux services de psychiatrie, à l’hôpital du Vinatier, à Lyon. Ses missions principales sont l’accompagnement des familles concernées par le handicap psychique, tant en approche individuelle que groupale. Elle est aussi formée à la thérapie cognitive comportementale pour la psychose (en particulier l'approche groupale du Pr. Lecomte).